Reviews

Android The Deadhead Archives Reviews

David Socolov December 21, 2017
If you’re a follower of the Grateful Dead and/or other like minded groups, this app is outstanding. A must! Mega thanks to its developers.

Eric Leighton December 25, 2017
Long time Deadheads here. Love the app. Wife, kids, dogs, and horses all listen, dance, and sing – sort of. Thanks for the tunes

December 30, 2017
I still play CDs, this is my first device. I was nervous that I wouldn’t be able to get my Dead! Thanks!

December 26, 2017
Awesome app. I’ve been waiting for this exact thing you have read my mind.

Jean-Paul Damrell December 23, 2017
This is an excellent app for listening to live music. It works well and is maintained with frequent updates.

December 22, 2017
A great app! Endless live Dead in a well-organized, easy to use interface. Great job!

christine bissell December 20, 2017
Fabulous

Charles Gaskell November 19, 2017
What a treasure, and what a band! A lot of work went into this app to compile recordings of (presumably) every show recorded. I first saw the Dead 37 years ago and really enjoyed hearing that show again. As a bonus a number of shows by affiliated bands are included. I can’t find this in the Apple store, but hope to see it there soon.

Geoffrey Williams September 27, 2017
Love it and I’m going to tell everyone about it. I wish the play controls on the lock screen were right there like Spotify or Pandora instead of needing to expand it. Also… I don’t know. I forget. Oh yeah. It seems like like rotates the screen even when I have it locked, even for other apps. And Jerry Band show don’t show up.

Matt Hicks December 13, 2017
I use this Every. Single. Day. To have easy access to this volume of amazing music is worth more than 5 starts. I personally love the this day in history tab. You get to follow your own tour and find weird gems you could never find on your own.

Jimi D’Angelo September 15, 2017
This app is very important to me ! Anytime i’m have’n a bad or down day or miss’n Jerry , I don’t have to dig to find sum dead , my phone always with me therefore so is Jerry & the Boys ✌

Scott Boggs November 13, 2017
Totally awesome app here. Definitely is one of the best apps I’ve found containing one of the most comprehensive set lists covering all decades for my ears to hear. Found my new home to get my Dead on… I am a later-in-life deadhead. When I first heard the Dead on this college radio station while passing by it on vacation, the meeting of two destined forces occurred and my mind was never as wondering as at that moment… like an awakening almost. That was at 10 years old, from then on I was, am, and will forever be a deadhead – seeing whatever show I could make, scrounging the money up for tix, It has been and continues to be the greatest experience of my life so far, and hope to pass on to my two lil girls as they develop.

Shawn Moynihan November 25, 2017
When it’s casting it will pause for a second or two between songs, for example China Cat> Rider will get cut off right in the middle of the jam. Anyway to fix that?

Richard Hill November 9, 2017
Great work. Hapless GOGD as long as you have internet. Pretty much any show with options for aud or SBD. Does the job and does it well. Beyond description

Reed Kartye August 31, 2017
Incredible way to listen to all of the Dead’s live shows. This app has improves a ton over the past few years and now feels like a quality music app. Make playlist, shuffle songs, find all the live copies of a particular song, ture an awesome app and great resource for every deadhead.

Andrew – August 31, 2017
love the app, definitely needs to have an EQ though. lot of shows would greatly benefit from this. pause button via drop down menu only restarts the song.

Alan Critchfield December 9, 2017
Excellent app. Although having issues when I try to search for a specific show. The app closes as soon as I start typing. (Samsung Galaxy S6)

Lucas Tomolonis September 26, 2017
My cassette player finally broke so now I listen to this instead. It may not be analog, but I don’t terribly miss the hiss!

Sean Baldwin September 15, 2017
Gone are the days of tapes and swaps, just about every show available on a phone; What A Long Strange Trip It’s Been. Many thanks to the developers for this fantastic app.

dennis Penglase November 22, 2017
GREAT app! There’s a lot of apps out there to stream stuff off of Archive. But this one is GD only. Nice clean interface. No ads. And TOTALLY user friendly. I can’t give this app enough praise.

Tom and Ashley Potter November 2, 2017
Grate stockpile of darn near every recording of darn near every show ever, and all associated bands too.

FourCorner Mineral December 12, 2017
This is one of the best apps ever made! I can’t believe it’s true.. What a treasure as someone else said. Truly Wonderful ♥♥♥

Charlie Jenkins September 15, 2017
i miss the days when EVERY tape had a story to go with it..we all do miss them old days, but gotta keep on moving, right

December 2, 2017
Wonderful resource! The first show I looked for was the 1989 summer solstice concert from the Shoreline. I had several choices! Very happy!

Gregory Luther November 7, 2017
This app is amazing! Every show I could ever want right there. God bless those who made it.

September 2, 2017
Great app but cant seem to close it on my app list when finished so would be nice to fix that.

T R December 3, 2017
Best app ever. so many shows it will blow your mind. Thanks so much for making this app

Dean Whitney October 18, 2017
Works as it should without unexpected headache. Wish I knew about it a lot sooner. This time the lights are shining on me.

Casey Addy October 13, 2017
I love it. All my favorite dead shows at the click of a few buttons.

October 22, 2017
It works fine on a Samsung Galaxy J3. (Sky) Thank you very much.

Chef Timothy September 25, 2017
Your ap is definitely an act of Love! Thanks so much, it’s keeping sane…

Bob Melamed September 16, 2017
Listen to every show, any show, any time. Awesome.

ronald r. jones jr. November 29, 2017
Just love having all this music that I don’t have in my iPod….yea, I still use an iPod!!!

Jack Rose October 20, 2017
Awesome! Thank you for this wonderful app! Makes it much easier to get my daily Dead fix!

David Truesdale November 1, 2017
Love this app! Thanks for the effort put in. All it needs, in my opinion, is a widget.

T. Ross Young November 20, 2017
If I had to choose one app for my smartphone…This is it.

Roger Magly September 9, 2017
Don’t usually do reviews, but this is killer

Brian Sims September 1, 2017
Greatest app on my phone. Only one I COULDN’T live without…

Ronnie Gurrera October 25, 2017
Awesome app! We need ‘Jerry Garcia Band’ added to the search!

ben lehman November 20, 2017
It’s like an endless wall of maxell 90’s… Amazing, thank you

Ron Depot November 15, 2017
It’s nice to see they cover all aspects of the dead’s music

Matt T September 13, 2017
This is the bee’s knees

brian lewis November 22, 2017
Its fixed! Every show anytime. Invaluable resource. Perfect. Thanks!

Danny yoe December 5, 2017
Dead all Day

dog1dog2 August 30, 2017
Love this app to death

francis zecco September 22, 2017
I love this app.

Ryan October 24, 2017
This might be the greatest music app ever created

eri ro September 27, 2017
Excellent app! I love it and use it daily!

Tim Shaw December 8, 2017
Phenomenal App. Beautiful! Thanks man.

Matthew Naughton November 27, 2017
Great app. Works very well

fishman D December 4, 2017
Thank you what a great app this is!

Joseph Ovitsh September 3, 2017
Epicness 🙂

Lauren .Davis November 5, 2017
Love the search by band feature

Concept December 5, 2017
Best app ever.

November 23, 2017
Grateful for this app!

C von October 7, 2017
Best app EVERRRRR

November 10, 2017
Fantastic work

eddie stocker September 10, 2017
Awesome. ..

Lee L August 29, 2017
Best app for jamming with the Dead & related acts. Handles gapless playback super smoothly (which seems to be a real challenge for a lot of other apps). Thanks so much for developing this! Is there any chance you might release a version that would let users access the huge number of other (not necessarily Dead-related) bands on the Archive? There was another app which did this, but not as well, by far, as your app does – and it hasn’t been maintained in a couple years IIRC. Anyway, I love this app. Thanks!

Mike Pickle August 30, 2017
Love it. Love it. Love it!!!

James K August 31, 2017
Great

Tom Frankenberg May 26, 2017
I would love to give this a higher review because it has made finding shows so much easier but, and it’s a big but, the app regularly stops playing every 10 to 15 minutes and then I have to pick another song, go back to the original and try to guess where I was. Also player won’t play next track if my phone screen is off. Maybe there’s tricks out there but I don’t know them. Edit:: I appreciate the response from James to help me out. All good and 5 star.

April 28, 2017
Tom- Check out the tip, in the tips section, for Doze Mode. I have a Pixel and it did the same thing until I made the phone setting change. The issue is with the newer versions of Android, namely 6 and 7. If you want more information, send me an email. I guarantee this will fix the problem. James

Nic Harris July 6, 2017
Stumbled across this app, and after a bit of digging I was soon jamming out to my first show ~ Roanoke, VA 7/8/87. I am thrilled to be able to have the Grateful Dead close by… and the app is way easy to use. Thank you!!!

C Whinnery July 13, 2017
Its great. Various aud & SBD streams of nearly ‘everything’ . Some minor organizational issues but this app is crucial, yo! Word is bond! A shout out to Charlie Miller! Your work is bomb. Keep on keepin’ on! Props to all peeps involved.

Tanner Peters July 27, 2017
This app is amazing. I probably use it more than any other app. But one thing that would make it better is if the transition between songs when casting to a TV was improved. I listen to music a lot through Chromecast and it’s not as smooth as as with headphones and it can mess with the flow of the show.

Richard Rojowski July 1, 2017
Love the app until recently. Now when I pick a show, start a track, it plays for a few minutes then just stops! I’ve enjoyed this app for over a year, now this???? Very frustrating, please fix/ advise. I’ve already uninstalled and reinstalled to no avail. Please help!

July 1, 2017
Richard- Check out the tip in the app about Doze Mode. That should be able to help out with the issues that you’re having. Send me an email if it doesn’t help.

WolfDaddy Angelo September 13, 2017
Other than the fact that this here app would really shine a whole lot brighter with some sort of EQ added to it, I absolutely love it, folks! Unsolicited testimonial…

Bruce Weinberg May 29, 2017
If u like the grateful dead this an essential tool to access every note played in every show from ’65 thru every iteration since jerry died including my current fab ‘dead & co.”!!…. I now prefer Matrix over charlie miller board… ‘the joy is in the journey’!!

Aaron Bennett June 21, 2017
Wonderful app. I wish you could add other bands… For example Hank3 has tons of shows on archive, and I don’t expect tons of deadhead to be into that, but I would like to be able to add him and see his shows as well.

Jesse Benson
Great app. Love that SCI is included. Only complaint is that you have to get the order of songs in playlists right the first time because you can’t rearrange them. I mostly just listen to complete shows anyway though.

Michael Liberati July 17, 2017
James this is fantastic. I am listening to a show from my college days, the early 80’s.. Hope I don’t have a flashback at work.

Jeffrey Shepke July 9, 2017
Greatest app ever! Too bad I can only give 5 stars

don knotts August 21, 2017
Didn’t know I needed this app as I’ve been streaming for years. Awesome. Thanks for making this app man

Elbowdeepz June 5, 2017
Thank you for this, I can now smile daily again with the blissful songs of sweetness in my ears again!

Related